top of page

Backpack Gear (On a Budget)

I definitely understand that it can be hard to see the latest/most expensive gear and want to buy it immediately but if you want to start backpack hiking without breaking the bank, there maybe a way to do it!


I find that borrowing other people's gear helps at first but there is something so nice about owning your own stuff. So here are 3 items that I FIRST started off with and still use:

This backpack I started with is discontinued however, the Gregory Womens Amber 34L Overnight Backpack, very similar to mine. Honestly, its probably better than mine, as this one has a separated section to an easy access sleep bag compartment. This was a great starting backpack as it fit everything I needed at the start and had great mesh pockets, hip pockets, super compact and lightweight backpack.


I bought the Mountain Warehouse Waterproof Womens Vibram Boots, before I travelled to South Korea as I needed a pair asap to hike Mt. Hallasan, for my first ever 8 hour hike. So while these aren't the cheapest hiking boots, I wanted something that would last and most of all keep my feet dry, gripped, and comfortable. It's amazing how long these hiking boots have lasted. Like 5 years!


I started off with the Therm-a-Rest Prolite. I love this one as it is self-inflating with an R value of 2.4. I still use this quite often but mostly as extra comfort sleeping in the back of my car. It is comfortable and doesn't make noise if you toss and turn like me in your sleep! I've had many great sleeps on this camping pad :)


There are pros and cons to the budget gear and along my journey, I have found other gear that is either more comfortable, lightweight, or more durable. Along with the budget gear list, I have also provided the UPDATED gear list on these 3 items, if you choose to mix and match.


Happy trekkin'

Budget Gear List

Updated Gear List

Gregory Womens Amber 34L Overnight Backpack

PROS: Compact, great mesh exterior pockets and hip belt pockets CONS: Not too many options for compartments and exterior straps


Osprey Uni-Sex 38L Backpack PROS: Compact, great exterior and interior pockets, exterior straps to hold more stuff, so many options for carabiners, hip belt pockets CONS: Not the most breathable back, heavier


Mountain Warehouse Waterproof Womens Vibram Boots

PROS: Great Vibram grip, comfortable, waterproof

CONS: Suede and seams eventually gave in but lasted 5+ years


​Vasque Women's Hiking Boots PROS: Very waterproof, durable, great Vibram grip, long lasting with great material/seams CONS: So waterproof can be hard for ventilation

Camping Pad: Therm-a-Rest Prolite PROS: No noise when moving at night, quick inflate CONS: Not the most compact, on the thick side rolling up

Therm-a-Rest Neoair Uberlite Sleeping Pad PROS: Keeps you warm with R-value, very lightweight, rolls up smaller than a bottle, quick inflate CONS: Crunchy noise when moving at night



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page